I'M FAT: The Road To Baby Dino

I'm going to lose thirty pounds in the next month... here's how you can too.

I’M FAT

Listen, I know most people would look at me and say "you're just all muscle!"

But I'm currently the heaviest I've EVER been in my life... (241lbs). I’m currently two weeks into a “modified” Whole30 where I will hopefully be doing it for 90 days. Two weeks ago I was at 246… so I have already dropped some weight, and I already feel LOADS better. I’ll get more into this later, but that’s just a little backstory of me over the last few weeks.

I’ve always been chunky. I think that’s the best way to explain it. I’ve never been a kid who was characterized as a “twig” and something I didn’t experience until college was the feeling of being comfortable in my own body.

I don’t really talk about this a lot, but I’ve always been consumed with my weight. Since I was a kid, I had two problems:

  • I loved food

  • I hated being overweight

Not a good combo.

You ever look back at pictures of yourself from 2-3 years ago and think,

“holy COW I was SKINNY!”

But then you remember how you felt about yourself in that moment of that picture… You remember feeling the shirt pull on your hips. You remember sucking in your gut just a little more than usual.

You remember FEELING fat.

Nashville 2017. I remember feeling fat. I can no loner fit into that shirt.

Some may call this “Body Dysmorphia,” and others may call it something else. But I am going to call it “Unhealthy”

Lame, I know. But the reason I use that term is because I am tired of having that reaction… I don’t want to be focused on my WEIGHT in previous pictures. I want to focus on something I can’t control: my age.

(ex: “omg look at how YOUNG I used to look)

And the only way to do that is to start focusing on the things I CAN control: my weight.

So, here's my plan to get in shape before my firstborn is due (December 7th)👇🏼

DISCLAIMER:

I'm relatively active.

I do HIIT and CrossFit workouts 1-3x a week already.

Standing desk is used 80% of the day while working

I'm not starting from square one, but I'm mainly going to be focusing on nutrition and walking over the next four months.

What I don't want to do is:

A Diet

I've done Keto and I end up gaining everything back.

Fresh off of 2 months of Keto (Jenny and I’s wedding)

It sucks.

I'm trying to change lifestyle choices and (MOSTLY) my relationship with food.

So over the next 90 days, here’s what I got on the docket:

Whole30 (but):

  • instead of the traditional Whole30, I’m making some changes based on the assumption I will be doing this for 90 days (in order to further push myself and create better habits)

  • Anything Coffee related is a hall pass.

    • I simply will not give up coffee, lattes, etc.

    • However no whole milk if doing espresso drinks… oat milk instead

  • I am allowing myself 3 Ghost Energy Drinks a week

    • no sugar and only 5 calories

  • I am allowing myself 1 cheat day every 30 days

    • Probably will destroy my stomach… but I’m down with creating negative reinforcement loops with “splurging”

That’s pretty much it. Outside of this, the basis of Whole30 is:

  • Fruits

  • Veggies

  • Meat

  • Sparkling Water

  • no sugar added

  • no alcohol

  • no grains

  • no legumes

  • no dairy

My other rules I’ll be following are:

  • I will write an update every two weeks on how I’m doing

  • I will not weigh myself until the end of the 90 days

  • I will take body measurements of myself every 30 days

  • I will be working out min 3x a week

  • I will walk 20,000 steps at least 3x a week

Let me just say one more thing as well…

Here’s why I’m doing this: I’m having a son.

Yes, in 4 months I’ll be a father. CRAZY! And having this number creep up to me only has me realizing one thing

I want to be healthy! I want to be a healthy father. I want my kid to tell his friends that “My dad can beat up your dad.” It’s simple, I know. But it has really put my health into a much more intense perspective.

That being said, here’s my initial numbers:

  • Starting Weight: 246lbs

  • Starting Measurements

    • Neck: 16”

    • Shoulders: 54”

    • Chest: 48”

    • R Arm: 16”

    • L Arm: 15.75”

    • Hips: 44.5”

    • Waist: 41”

    • R Leg: 26”

    • L Leg: 26.5”

I’ll keep you updated on my progress here.

If you’d like to join me for one stint of the 30 days, let me know! I’d love to have someone to help encourage each other.

HAGS

Dino Favara, Jr.